Bio – Aniwaa Owusu Obeng, Pharm.D.

Dr. Aniwaa Owusu Obeng is Senior Director of The Mount Sinai Pharmacogenomics Program and an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) in New York, USA. Dr. Owusu Obeng joined Mount Sinai in July 2013 and has been spearheading clinical pharmacogenomics implementation efforts in Mount Sinai ever since. She also leads development of provider and patient educational materials on pharmacogenomics. Moreover, Dr. Owusu Obeng directs clinical pharmacogenomics rotations for PGY1 and PGY2 pharmacy residents in the Mount Sinai Health System and Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience rotation for final year student pharmacists.

Dr. Owusu Obeng obtained her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (ACPHS) in Albany, NY. She then pursued residency in general pharmacy practice at the Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center in NY, and subsequently, a PGY2 residency at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. As the inaugural resident in the UF Health Personalized Medicine Program, Dr. Owusu Obeng specialized in Pharmacogenomics and Drug Information. Her research interests mainly lie in developing best practice processes to effectively bridge the gap between discovery of genetic determinants of therapeutic response and their adoption into routine clinical practice.

Dr. Obeng has published over 40 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters on pharmacogenomics and precision medicine. She is an active member of Clinical Pharmacogenetics Implementation Consortium (CPIC) and the Pharmacogenomics Working Group in the NIH/NHGRI-funded IGNITE Network. She is the current Chair of the Early Career committee in the Pharmacogenetics Research Network (PGRN) where she also serves as a member of the Developing Countries committee. She is a 2017 ISMMS Leadership Emerging in Academic Departments Scholar; a member and 2017 MERIT Scholar of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy; the 2021 recipient of the Solomon Silver Award in Clinical Medicine at ISMMS and the 2022 recipient of the Outstanding Young Alumni Award from ACPHS.